Premed 101 Forums

Know any RBC loan representative???

hello.

I have an active student loc with rbc. I am an entering student, and my school hasn't started yet. However, I am interested in going to a different school, than the one I got the LOC approved for. Both of the schools are in the States. Could somebody here, who is familiar with RBC's loan procedures, or who knows someone in RBC's loan department, please tell me if it is possible to change the school on this LOC?

Why I ask is because different representatives keep giving different answers. Some say that the loan application (the loc is activated on my account now, and the first portion of it has been already released to me) will have to be resubmitted, and another approval will be needed from credit department. Some say that another credit approval wouldn't be needed, the school can just be changed as is, as long as the school is on the approval list (it is) and the program is same (that is too). And I actually got this LOC approved with difficulty, since my account manager had said it was a borderline application, and if resubmitted, he did not know if it will be approved again.

Then there are some representatives who say to just use the amount I have released to whichever school I want to go to. Then come next year with the enrollment proof from the school I am in. As long as school is in approved list, and as long as program is same, it shouldn't matter.

And now I am lost. Because I want to go to a different school. But I also don't want to take any chances with this loc I have signed.

Is there someone here who has gone through this and can share some thoughts on this? Would it be unwise if I use this amount that has been released, for a different school, and then come back next year and give them proof and tell them that my school has been changed? Can they cancel because of that?

Hey, I actually asked this question as I was signing the loan.