Premed 101 Forums

Shot at US DO schools?

Hey all,

Is it worth my time and money to apply to some DO schools close to the boarder? I made this post here http://premed101.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60067

In a nutshell: I graduated from mcmaster almost a decade ago with a gpa of about 3.5. After graduating I took a few courses here and there just for fun while I worked (I worked at a bank) but didn't put much into them and got poor grades. Long story short, my gpa now is only about 3.1 overall on the omsas scale. The UofT weighted gpa gives me about 3.62 only.

I wrote the mcat about three years ago and got bio 9, phys 9, vr10, and ws Q. Since the, I entered a different health profession but the degree I got was pass/fail courses (also from mcmaster) so there is no gpa attached to it, just qualitative statements (all of them good!) about my knowledge, skills, and professionalism.

I see that MSU has a Canadian initiative and financially this might be something I can swing.

Thoughts?

Hard to say

Wgpa is just can med bull****..

Msu will be hard bc now all can are applying there and many can are looking at us DO now over an international school

If msu get a good edorsement in can...the DO Will be the next big thing Can med hopefulls will apply to as many people are clueless about DO

Your old gpa is decent n mcat is ok

I'd apply early

I'd Ty lmu Azcom touro nova western

I know for a fact that you can't matriculate MSU without the pre-reqs, it's a part of the contract that you sign when you accept your offer. And with reference to MSU, the matriculate cGPA average is 3.6.