Premed 101 Forums

Advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Hi everyone,

Sorry in advance for the long post, but I would appreciate some advice about my situation.

I graduated undergrad with a <3.0 gpa. Terrible, I know. I was very disinterested in academics and always thought of myself as ‘average’…so that’s what I wanted: average job, average hours, average money.

This is where I am now. I work in the pharma/clinical research industry doing an average job, and I feel tremendously unfulfilled.

After my undergrad I took 6 months off (did nothing, had no drive, no sense of ambition or self-worth) and started a 1 yr clinical research certification program, and got a job in the industry. I lost myself (cheesy I know) & had no path in university. So finally I decided it was time to deal with my issues (still working on them) & I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching and self improvement. I read a lot about how to better oneself (i.e. to believe in myself, believe I am worth it, and believe I can accomplish anything I set my mind to, dealing with 'ego', how to compose/handle yourself in situations..etc).

After working at this job, I realize that no matter what industry you are in, if you want to get anywhere, you will have to put in hard-work and dedicate yourself to the job & field (i.e. always be on top of this that are happening in your industry).

Medicine has always been at the back of my mind, because I have very pushy parents who think medicine is the only career worth any regard (medicine & engineering), so that they can go around and tell the world that their child is a doctor [and maybe deep down, that their child will be financially secure for the rest of their lives]. I used (and to a certain degree still do) resent them for shoving it down my throat as the only option for my life, that I did whatever I could to pretend I was interested (ie got a BSc in medsci+bio----but ****acularly), meanwhile I just wanted out.