Premed 101 Forums

MCAT-Writing Sample Advices and Tips

Dear All,

As a follow up to my previous post on advices and tips to the physical sciences section, I will now write a post about my experiences with the MCAT Writing Sample (WS).

Again, as with the physical sciences section, please take everything I write with a grain of salt. These advices only reflect how I studied for my MCAT, and they are by no means the best advice or the best way to study for the MCAT.

A quirky fact about me: I am one of those weird sciences kids who love writing. I am also an immigrant (came here about 9 years ago). :) I got a R in writing sample.

For writing sample

1. Keep everything structured. A paragraph has one idea and one idea only. You start with your main premise, follow by the supports, and conclude by emphasizing your premise again.

2. Transition words. Don't overuse transition words!! Also, transition words often are awkward sounding and make your writing slightly a bit less mature. As a result, learn to use them efficiently. Here is a trick. Put transition words in the middle of a sentence instead of the beginning. Also, learn to use transition phrases (i.e Despite of blah blah blah blah, blah blah blah blah happened)

Instead of writing

blah bah blah blah. However, blah blah blah blah.

Write.

blah blah blah blah. blah blah, however, blah blah blah blah.

3. For MCAT WS you should write 3 paragraphs. 1st paragraph discusses the prompt (again. premise, support, re-state the premise). 2nd paragraph discusses the count-prompt (again, premise, support, re-state the premise). 3rd paragraph should resolve the issue.

4. If you have not taken a logics class, it might be a good idea to take one and learn about the common logical fallacies. When I read my friends' essays, they are often full of logical fallacies. Here is a common one

If blah blah blah, then duh duh duh

If not blah blah blah, then duh duh duh won't happen.