Premed 101 Forums

I've Never Wanted to Go to Med School Before

Hi guys,

Going to med school hasn't been a life-long dream. With that said, I'm now seriously considering it but there is a slight problem. I'm going into my 4th year of my undergrad (Psychology) and because I've only just started to seriously think of going into medicine, I have no idea where to start. I'm not familiar with any part of the premed process (just layman's stuff) and would appreciate all the pointers a newbie can get. Here are the pros, cons and neutrals of my situation:

- My biggest con: average in all my coursework is a ridiculously non-competitive 72% (it's not that I'm not capable, there are some 90s and high 80s in there- in "hard science" courses - but there are also some 40s and 50s - multiple reasons, no doctors note so I don't think it matters here).

- Prior to Psychology (B.Sc.) I was a General Sciences student and so I have probably already taken many premed courses (I take it that that's a separate evaluation?)

+ My last 4 years have been spent eating, breathing and sleeping volunteer work (fundraising, food bank, day camps, youth groups, Immigrant communities, First Nations communities, social justice, interfaith... the list is long but you get the point).

+ I haven't taken the MCAT and I'm guessing a good mark counts for something.

o I switched into Psychology last year which means that I've taken courses in a wide range of sciences (and arts, I'm minoring in French).

Is a second undergraduate degree in my near future?

Thanks,

Ig

P.S. I worked a stint at a podiatrists office as a receptionist .... does that count for anything?