Premed 101 Forums

Radiology residency with a family

Any residents have kids? Manageable? Worse/better/same as clerkship? What city do you live in? Would you say your city and program are family friendly? By that I mean family housing, good schools and communities, parks, general attitude toward kids and family in the radiology department, time for family activities. If you have kids you know some of the "intangibles" can make a huge difference. I would love to hear your experience.

What would your partner say about the program/city? How about the workload. Does your partner complain about not seeing you enough or that you are too stressed?

Rads is my number 1. I am trying to decide how to rank these programs. I only have electives at 2 schools so the rest I am just going on website info and hearsay from people who aren't really in a comparable situation.

I am a UBC student. I have 2 kids currently ages 4 and 1. I think Calgary and UBC are going to be my top two but i cant decide between them. I have no idea what the other programs and cities are like with respect to families. Mcmaster is intriguing.

Forum search was fruitless. Any help would be greatly appreciated

I don't know how many radiology residents with children regularly post on these forums. You will have opportunities to ask these questions at the interview - if you prefer, you can contact programs for contact info of residents, but I would wait until you know what your ranking choices are.

Yeah I figured if any had kids they wouldn't have much time to hang around these forums. This is a big part of my ranking choices so I would like as much info as I can get up front. It will influence what I say when programs ask "Why do you want to train here?." It may influence my letter to a school. The quality of the education is so good at so many programs and I want to go somewhere that my family is most comfortable. Could be a deal breaker for me.