Premed 101 Forums

Help !

Hello everyone,

Okay , this is my first post on this forum and I hope that I will find the answer for what I have been looking for in ages !

I'm an international medical student (second year) , I'm originally from iraq , but due to the current circumstances in iraq I moved to jordan and I'm currently studying medicine in Jordan university of science and technology.

My family members are planing to immigrate to Canada next year . The problem is that the system in jordan is completely different than in Canada , in jordan we don't have "premed" you simply apply to medicine ( you will be accepted according to your score in the high school) and once you get accepted you are officially considered as a medical student and after completing 6 years ( which is equivalent to 257 credit hours ) you are officially a doctor with a bachelor degree (MBBS).

I know that in my case if I came to Canada I have to start all over again (starting from zero) ,but i have been thinking ,,, what if I finished the three basic sciences years here in jordan and after that I will apply to study medicine in Canada ! My question is : what are they going to consider me ?? I mean are they going to consider these three years as the "premed years" and they will accept me directly in the 4 years of medicine or they will just ignore the whole thing and tell me that I have to do the premed there ??

I know this has been quite long , but I needed to explain my situation in details so I can get the correct answer .

Please help ! and I would really really appreciate it if anyone could tell me what is the best thing to do in my case .

Thanks in advance

Nada.

will accept me directly[/b] in the 4 years of medicine or they will just ignore the whole thing and tell me that I have to do the premed there ??

Hello,