Premed 101 Forums

What about an MBA to enter medical school in Quebec ?

Hi, here is my situation :

I have an electrical engineering degree from Polythechinque, I've been working as an engineer full-time for about 5 years now.

I would like to get into medicine. My engineering grades were good but not amazing.

I also have three children so whatever I need to do cannot be very long.

I"m thinking about the 1 year intesive MBA at the HEC.

If I do not get accepted at least this diploma would be helpful for my engineering career.

I guess my question is : did anyone ever get accepted into med scholl with an MBA ?

Thank you very much in advance.

I don't think this will help you in your pursuit of med.

I believe for McGill you will need another undergraduate degree. Contact the French speaking medical schools directly to see what, if anything, might make you a competitive candidate. Also, post in the Quebec Forum. For non Quebec med schools, MCAT is required for all but Ottawa and NOSM, for Ottawa you will need a 2nd degree with 3.87/4.0 GPA with lots of ECs and for NOSM, you have French which they value but they do prefer candidates from rural areas; you may need another undergraduate degree there too.

I think your best bet would be to take the minimum 45 credits in another undergrad program that McGill requires in order for your 2nd undergrad marks to be used. You will still need to complete (if you haven't already completed in the past 8 years) the pre-reqs. If your pre-reqs are below par, a strong MCAT can replace them.

I would also look into whether or not you qualify for the non-traditional stream, as a lower GPA can be overlooked (should still be greater than 3.2) in favour of strong extra-curriculars and health related work experience.

http://www.mcgill.ca/medadmissions/admissions/categories/roq/ntp