Premed 101 Forums

MCAT Prep before Prep

jdr44

Hi all,

How are you?

I am a mature student and I wanted some advice about writing the MCAT for the third time.

I took in once in 2009, once in 2011 and am aiming to take it in the summer of 2013 or early winter 2014 - pending on my school and travel schedules.

Obviously something isn't working with me. I had tried a prep course and without a prep course - I did better with the prep course but I honestly think it's a lack of foundational knowledge.

(I also have a real tendency to choke on test day. I suffer from significant GAD but refuse to let that stop me).

Unfortunately I do NOT have a good grasp of basic mathematics - which is really unfortunate for the MCAT Physical Sciences section (my lowest score). Has anyone or can anyone recommend a way to increase this foundational knowledge?

Any workbooks better than others to get the foundational knowledge down? Should I be taking Grade 11 or 12 Science, Math, Physic courses to help me out?

I might be on a non-trad path - but it's okay ... I am going to get there one day :)

Hi all,

How are you?

I am a mature student and I wanted some advice about writing the MCAT for the third time.

I took in once in 2009, once in 2011 and am aiming to take it in the summer of 2013 or early winter 2014 - pending on my school and travel schedules.

Obviously something isn't working with me. I had tried a prep course and without a prep course - I did better with the prep course but I honestly think it's a lack of foundational knowledge.

(I also have a real tendency to choke on test day. I suffer from significant GAD but refuse to let that stop me).

Unfortunately I do NOT have a good grasp of basic mathematics - which is really unfortunate for the MCAT Physical Sciences section (my lowest score). Has anyone or can anyone recommend a way to increase this foundational knowledge?