Premed 101 Forums

Tips for non bio/chem/physics student on prep for MCAT

prosoccer99

I am currently an undergrad student at UofT. I am doing a b.sc in psychology, and am also majoring in political science (an art). Although psychology is a b.sc, and I do take science courses (biopsych, physio of perception, etc.) I feel I do not have a great understanding of chemistry and physics at the MCAT level. Instead of taking the recommended prereq courses, is it possible to learn the courses on my own? I am a great self learner (I rarely attend lecture and prefer to read textbooks instead).

I know not taking the prereqs limit my options in Canada to 5-7 med schools. I plan to write the 2015 MCAT exam which is slanted moreso in my favor than now because it is 25% psych and soc. My cGPA will probably be 3.7 - 3.8 range when I graduate, so it is the MCAT that I am primarily worrying about. Basically, what pathway or resources would you recommend for me to learn all of the core sciences.

P.S. I want to be a psychiatrist so that is why I am majoring in psych.

Thanks.

If you want to be a psychiatrist why do you want to become a doctor? Be prepared to answer this question by adcoms! :) Cheers,

-GGG

To help people who have mental illness? Depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia and countless other illnesses need to be treated..? I want to be a doctor because that is what Psychiatrists are... Anyway, any tips on how I could learn in the most efficient way?

I hate to burst your bubble; but if you want to be a psychiatrist you have to get through all the "doctor stuff" and we use a lot of it from day to day as well :)

I suggest that if you're a non-bio/chem/physics student, maybe clinical psychology may be better for you?