Premed 101 Forums

dental :S

Guest moz donor

Guest moz donor

OMG i just spent half an hour writing a post and LOST IT ALL because something was wrong with my username! now i have to start over... >:

HELLO ALL.

I am a York U student. my first year just ended and i am attending summer school right now. Now Im gona first say that I know this is a forum for medicne, but I thought you guys would be the best people to answer my questions.

I want to apply for dental school at UT and I am having trouble understanding the grading system conversion for the applications. At york u, the number grades are never kept and only letter grades are kept in the system (I asked, trust me!;):D ) What is weird about this, is how they are devided into letters! 90-100 = A+ and 80-89= A thats right!, there is no A- and if you get 89, thats as good as getting an 80 :(

I saw the OMSAS conversion table once, dont ask me where coz i cant find it again no matter where i look... and it said that A+ = 4 and A = 3.8

this makes sense to me! its the average (not rally an average but some where between 3.7 and 4 :) )!

But then I thought, that they may not be the same!!!, the dental and medice grading systems.... so I emailed UT dental admissions... and they sent me this:

www.utoronto.ca/dentistry...art_03.pdf

But there is not column for yorku grading system in this one :\

so I email them back saying what ive said here and they say:

"The scale is still valid for York U and will not change. The only differnce is an A+ = 4.0 and an A = 3.7."

What i think? I think the person answering the emails is too ignorant to go and ask the correct answer from someone who is resposible instead of .... guessing ???

Because if this is true, then it'd be so very unfair! most of my marks are 85-89!!