Premed 101 Forums

opinion needed please

Hi guys,

I am new to this forum, and I need your opinion whether to bother applying to MM or not, I am an international pharmacy graduate, graduated 10+ years ago, moved to canada in 2006 and been working as a pharmacist since 2007. I just need your opinion whether I would have a chance in getting invited to MM' interview if:

1. I am out of province

2. I get a good VR (I think I can get 13/14)

3. I do well in the CASPer (I think I can be among the top 10%)

4. My gpa from back home is 76% (this will likely be converted to 3.0, I was among top 5% of my class but I don't think that will do any help)

I'd really appreciate any input whether I have a chance (even slim) or would it be a waste of time?

thanks

Thank you for your reply, I kinda figured it out, I just needed a second opinion, upgrading courses would not really do much because I had a 170 credits with that GPA so it would be hard to do anything to change it, unless there is a school that does not give any weight to GPA (esp international ones as they vary by country and by school), I guess I am out of luck.

good luck to you

The first thing to do would be to have your international degree evaluated by WES. Then you can figure out where to go from there, depending on what they tell you.

+1

Before deciding what kind of chance you may or may not have, you should find out for certain what your grades would be. Also, while the lovely and very knowledgable folks here on premed101 are definitely a great resource to offer a sort of litmus test on your odds, the reality is it is not possible to know if you would get in without actually applying.

If you feel strongly that this career might be for you, then you could look at ways to improve your chances. If, for example, you can pull off a monster VR, that may change your odds.