Premed 101 Forums

Need advice

jaynh

I have a Masters degree, AMCAS cGPA of 3.83 (OMSAS cGPA of 3.69) in my undergrad with an upward trend and a 32R (11PS, 9VR, 12BS). I have average ECs: a few research internships, a patent, executives of a few clubs, volunteering at a long term care facility who cater to Alzheimer patients, working with children and teenagers who suffered some type of brain trauma, etc.

I was unable to receive a interview at Canadian schools this past cycle. I was planning to apply to American schools this year. I was wondering if i should apply to mid or lower tier schools; any specific school suggestions would be great.

I also have not completed the full-year English course that most American schools require. It seems like it might be too late for me to apply for a class this summer. I plan on taking the course in fall. Would I be at a disadvantage (having my file reviewed later) for not having the English requirement?

I have a Masters degree, cGPA of 3.83 in my undergrad with an upward trend and a 32R (11PS, 9VR, 12BS). I have average ECs: a few research internships, a patent, executives of a few clubs, volunteering at a long term care facility who cater to Alzheimer patients, working with children and teenagers who suffered some type of brain trauma, etc.

I was unable to receive a interview at Canadian schools this past cycle. I was planning to apply to American schools this year. I was wondering if i should apply to mid or lower tier schools; any specific school suggestions would be great.

I also have not completed the full-year English course that most American schools require. It seems like it might be too late for me to apply for a class this summer. I plan on taking the course in fall. Would I be at a disadvantage (having my file reviewed later) for not having the English requirement?

Everything looks good from my POV except your MCAT.

What province are you IP for?