Premed 101 Forums

Returning to Undergrad as Non-Degree and PT Admissions

I graduated with 20 Full credits from YorkU with a cGPA of 3.3 and last 10 course GPA of 3.4 and applied to UofT, McMaster and Queens. I did not get into any of the 3 schools and I've currently applied as a Non-Degree student at YorkU to boost my GPA.

I only recently found out that once I graduated, the GPA for my first degree is locked to the above number I mentioned. Now, I am uncertain how the marks for any non-degree courses will affect my GPA and my chance of admission.

I've only considered Ontario for PT, but I can consider expanding to Canada if there's a higher likelihood for acceptance.

Could someone help me clarify these topics. I'm basically at an impasse right now regarding how to proceed/where to go.

I took non-degree courses after graduation/outside of my degree and they were included in the 20 half credit sGPA calculation by ORPAS... I think they do it by course date for determining "most recent", and if they only need a few marks from the same term, I believe they take it in order of highest to lowest mark.

Ok, I am a little uncertain of what you mean. This is my grade breakdown: (3 is a half course, 6 is a full course)

Wgt GRD /9.0 /4.0 ideally

6 A 8 3.8 3.8

3 A 8 3.8 3.8

3 A 8 3.8 3.8

3 B+ 7 3.3 3.3

3 A 8 3.8 3.8

3 A+ 9 4 4

3 A 8 3.8 3.8

3 A 8 3.8 3.8

3 B 6 3 3

3 B+ 7 3.3 3.3

3 B+ 7 3.3 3.3

3 A 8 3.8 3.8

3 B 7 3 3

3 A 8 3.8 3.8

3 C+ 5 2.3 3.8 (Hypothetical)

3 C+ 5 2.3 3.8 (hypothetical)

3 B 6 3 3.8 (hypothetical)

3 B+ 7 3.3 3.8 (hypothetical)

3 B 6 3.3 3.8 (hypothetical)

60 7.15 3.39 3.64