Premed 101 Forums

coop and dental school admissions

I'm a gr12 student currently thinking about his university choices as the date for applications is getting near. I'm sure many of you recall the deep thought and possible confusion... well maybe not. Anyways, i was thinking of going to Waterloo for life science (coop), maybe biology. I was wondering how the coop terms will affect the way the dental schools look at my course load and what not. The program has the following schedule:

year 1: school, school, off

year 2: school, work, school

year 3: work, school, work

year 4: school, work, work

year 5: school, school.

I know for example for schulich dentistry at western they say they take your highest 2 years, but these years must have a full course load. im guessing year 1,2, and 5 would qualify for that but im not too sure about year 3 and 4.

Anyone who knows how it works, your help is much appreciated.

I'm many years removed from the admission process but in my experience if you are dead set on going to dental school you want to make yourself an appealing candidate to as many schools as you can. Generally that means getting a very high GPA with a full course load during the academic year (not summer). You can call each dental school and enquire if they will consider you equally.

With regards to co-op, I would advise you to proceed with caution especially since dentistry is your ultimate goal. I really didn't know which route to take to get into dental school, and I took some pretty bad advice from an older sibling, whom I thought knew what they were talking about.

GPA is king, and being in a co-op program will make achieving a competitive GPA very difficult. Co-op programs tend to be tied with academically rigorous courses. Ontop of studying, you have to search for jobs, apply for jobs, and attend interviews. I had one week where I had 4 midterms and 5 job interviews. You can imagine how difficult that was to juggle.