Premed 101 Forums

Part-time Nursing studies

Jrychlik

Hey pre-med forums!

I've recently started looking into nursing as a "sort of" career change.

Im a 23 ear old male (so still young, that's why its a sort-of) but basically need to keep still making money as I work as a certified ophthalmic assistant.

The reason why ive started looking into nursing is because I feel theres ALOT more room to work with, with a nursing degree than pure ophthalmic certifications. As im young I like to learn many new things and im still don't know what my future will hold, maybe I will want to learn more about anesthetics in the future, maybe more about psychology. I feel that nursing would give me these options in the future.

Basically what im looking for is a few options on obtaining my degree while keeping a part-time (or even a full-time) job. I currently work about 4 days a week and need the income for my mortgage, etc (yes, I have a house at 23).

Another reason is if I were to look into getting into the ophthalmic sector of a hospital in the future. I feel a nursing degree would help me out a TONNE!

I live in the Hamilton Ontario area, so ive been looking at Mcmaster programs as well at Mohawk. Im sure there are quite a few people who have had a career change to nursing, so any 'pointers' or 'hints' for the future will be great too, thanks!

During undergrad I worked for an ophthalmologist doing things a optho tech would do in a clinic, although not certified. It was interesting work but since it was highly specialized it didn't help much in terms of getting through the program.

It's entirely possible to do the program while maintaining a part-time job as I've seen quite a few classmates pull it off. Full-time would be more difficult as classes are usually held during the day and clinical hours are usually out of your control, again dependant on the program, give them a call.