Premed 101 Forums

Autobiographical Sketch Question

Hi there

I am a non-traditional applicant. A social worker with 13 years of experience in community health centres, interested in studying towards family medicine. Recently, reviewing the autobio sketch information on U of O Med's website, I noticed something about only the employment experience during undergraduate years being considered. Most, if not all, of my employment experience with the most relevance to medicine is post graduate (after my Master's degree actually, I have a Masters in Social Work). Is it correct that all of that employment experience will not be considered as part of my application?

Does anyone have any insight on this?

Many thanks

Nikki

Unfortunately, they don't. This year's cycle they looked at your top three activities in each category. However, putting in employment or other activities that are not done during your studies will cause no harm (I'm quite certain ottawa will not penalize you). But they won't look at it, however apparently they do look at activities outside of the top three in each category during interviews since the interviewers have your entire sketch with them. Do you have absolutely have no other employment during your undergrad and masters?

Hi there

I was employed during my undergraduate and my Masters, yes. But my employment history most relevant to medicine is certainly after I graduated and started working as a social worker full time. I have some part time employment in social worker during my Masters but I'm under the impression that it is undergraduate activities only. During my undergrad I worked part time in retail and other service jobs, not as a social worker. I am hoping that my work history might be considered, at some point. I guess this is not likely. That's unfortunate.

Hi there