Premed 101 Forums

MCAT-physical stress

Guest dogeatdog12

Guest dogeatdog12

I would just like to know how physically exhausing is the MCAT. I have a medical condition and I would like to know if I could write the MCAT this year. I am in third year going to fourth in the fall. However, I think I might do another year however. I am really at odds here because i don't think I can physically perform well given on the day of the MCAT. Does anybody have any suggestions? how grueling is the MCAT physically? should I postpone it? am I afraid if I don't write it this year then I will never have another year to improve.

thanks

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

The MCAT can be a bit of a mental and physical marathon: the adrenaline tends to pump and the brain is often whirring.

Have you explored any MCAT options re: provisions for folks with medical conditions? You might wish to sniff around for some information on that, as I thought I'd read somewhere that someone managed to receive some sort of special support for their MCAT writing due to a medical condition. :rolleyes

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest tweep0

Hi,

Follow Kirsteen's advice - gems. I would also add that I would try to do a couple moc MCATs to see how you can handle it. If you plan to take a course, then there will be many opportunities to do a moc. If not, many organizations like Kaplan, Princeton, and clubs on campus (i.e. the premed club at UofT) hold free moc MCAT sessions. Alternatively, you could just find out when Kaplan/Princeton conducts moc MCATs and just sit and write it (since you haven't paid, you won't get you MCAT scored, but you can (probably not to their liking) still write a moc MCAT). If you do a couple moc MCATs and you can manage it, the real MCAT should be fine. Good luck.

Tweep

Guest dogeatdog12