Premed 101 Forums

Do you think I have my chances ?

Hi,

Here is my situation: I'm wondering if I should take the MCAT or not, because if I take it, it's only for McMaster and Queen's (I apply as an Ontario Resident).

Therefore, could you please tell me if I should take the MCAT this summer(depending on if I have a good shot at McMaster) regarding my informations below:

I have a 3.492 gpa (I had 3.96 just for the last year, but because it was my 5th year, it does not count too much), and I know the average gpa for McMaster is 3.75. Also, I have a good resume.

Please could you tell me if I you think that I have a good shot at Mcmaster and therefore if I should take the MCAT or not.

Thanks a lot,

Ana.

I think you should take it. Not only for Mac and queens but for Toronto and western as well. Ottawa unfortunately I doubt you have any hope. Western looks at best 2 years and Toronto will drop a few of your lowest course grades which may help you make up for what you lack in GPA. In my opinion I don't think you have a shot at McMaster or queens. Really just western and Toronto.

To have a decent chance at McMaster, I would think you will need at least an 11 in verbal reasoning, more likely a 12. And then if you do well on Casper I think you have a shot at an interview. If you do get to the interview stage, it is worth 70% of your final score and so ultimately it will determine whether or not you get accepted.

As panic said, if you do really well on the MCAT you may have a good chance at Western. Queens is not very transparent so I can't comment on your chances there. U of T seems to love high GPAs in combination with good ECs since they only use the MCAT as a cutoff.

Hope this helps!

Hi,

Thanks for your answer. I never wrote the MCAT. But let me specify my question:

I am a Quebec resident (but I attended the University of Ottawa so I qualify as ontario resident for McMaster), and I already had an interview at University of Montréal (it didn't work).