Premed 101 Forums

Interview Preparation

Guest Emila

This is my first time applying to med school and I was wondering if someone who's been through interviews could give some advice.

I've been keeping up with news and looked at sample interview questions on the internet. I've signed up to do a mock interview but my school (U of Waterloo) doesn't have a pre-med program so I don't think they know too much about the process.

What kinds of things do I need to know about Canadian healthcare?

What do I need to know about the medical programs at the different schools?

How can I best prepare for the interview?

I'm feeling very stressed out. Any pointers would be helpful.

Guest therealcrackers

Hi there! I hope this will help you out in your preparations. Letters will be going out from the 5 Ontario medical schools over the next month about interview candidacies.

Mock interviews: if your school's career centre has interview training courses or practice sessions, see if you can get some background material, and tailor it to the interviews you are likely to undergo. Duplicating the McMaster interview would be very difficult, but the other schools' interviewing styles should be easy to copy and practice.

If you have friends who are interested, you can ask them to serve as the interviewers to judge your tone, your pacing, your composure, and get as much feedback as you can.

Preparing for the other aspects of the interview: once you know which schools you're interviewing at, the packages should include a schedule of the activities the admissions people and students have planned around the interview sessions. Find out about billeting, hotels, transportation, meals, information sessions, and special events; decide if you want to attend any or all of them (but if the students are enthusiastic, you can learn and see A LOT).