Premed 101 Forums

Canadian Dds Degree To Med School In The States

Hello,

I was just wondering, is there anyone who applied with a canadian DDS (dentistry) degree to USA med schools? If so can you give me some insight on your experience in doing so and if you were successful in gaining acceptance or not? Someone told me that I have a very high chance of getting in to american med schools (essentially I will get in without a doubt) since I hold a DDS degree even if my dental school marks are not as high as my undergrad marks.  Apparently, choosing to leave dentistry which is historically seen as a lucrative profession for a profession which may not be as lucrative shows the admissions committe that you are interested in med for all the right reasons.  I just wanted to confirm this.

Thank you.

Hello,

I was just wondering, is there anyone who applied with a canadian DDS (dentistry) degree to USA med schools? If so can you give me some insight on your experience in doing so and if you were successful in gaining acceptance or not? Someone told me that I have a very high chance of getting in to american med schools (essentially I will get in without a doubt) since I hold a DDS degree even if my dental school marks are not as high as my undergrad marks.  Apparently, choosing to leave dentistry which is historically seen as a lucrative profession for a profession which may not be as lucrative shows the admissions committe that you are interested in med for all the right reasons.  I just wanted to confirm this.

Thank you.

You'll have to give your undergrad marks and DDS marks, they will likely not really look at the DDS marks aside from a final holistic viewpoint.  You will NOT get in  "without a doubt", you have to be a strong candidate just as everyone else and perform well at interviews.