Premed 101 Forums

disadvantages when applying as a graduate student?

Guest slapHappy

Guest slapHappy

Hi there.

I know all of you here have read questions like these ad nauseum, but I can't really find a definitive answer to this question.

I'm considering on applying only after I'm in graduate school. My g.p.a. isn't as competitive as I would like. I'm hoping to do extremely well on my third and fourth year, and apply only after these marks are out. This would put me well into my first year of graduate studies (masters). I was planning on applying for a masters anyways, med school would simply be icing on the cake.

I've read from previous posts that medical schools tend to wait until after you get your graduate degree. So applying during my grad years might make me less competitive. So is this plan less advantageous than say, applying on your third undergrduate year? Or should I still keep applying anyways (assuming I don't get in) even when I'm doing my masters?

Thanks.

Guest aneliz

Here is the UWO take on Grad studies:

1. Doing a grad degree will not erase your undergrad years...meaning that you will not be considered in a different applicant pool and you must still meet ALL of the undergrad GPA, pre-req and courseload requirements.

2. There is NO consideration of your graduate work (ie your coursework, GPA in grad courses, the fact that you even are a grad student, etc) at UWO

3. Your chances are not statistically better as a grad...in fact they may be worse although this is not the official word...my class has 4 people with an MSc and ZERO with a PhD in a class of 133....very interesting...

4. You must have COMPLETED the requirements of your grad degree before you will be allowed to register at UWO...which means that you will NOT be eligible to apply during the first year of your master's (they will not grant you a deferal to complete the MSc)....you will have to wait until you are within sight of the finish line....