Premed 101 Forums

Any nurses out there??

Guest Lorae

Guest Lorae

So how many of you are nurses pursuing medicine??

I have 4 years of ICU work experience, through which I was taking prerequisite courses, and am now preparing my applications (for 2004) and studying for the August MCAT.

I'd love to chat with other nurses who are doing the same thing - offer each other advice/morale support.... Hearing from some successful applicants would be great too....

One of the problems I'm running into (with my applications) is that there are a lot of examples from my work as a nurse (compassion, critical thinking, clinical skills/decision making, team work, ethical reasoning) etc, etc... I am worried that if I sell these abilities and skills "too hard" the admissions committee might find themselves saying "hmmm... sounds like she should *stay* in nursing....". So I'm trying to say "As I nurse I've learned W, X, Y, Z skills and I will be able to expand and apply them to medicine because......" Cross your fingers and hope it works! :\

Anyway - it would be great to hear the experiences of other nurses on this path!

Guest madricka

Hi! :)

While I'm not an actual nurse yet, I am in nursing school (Ryerson) working on my 2nd degree (1st degree was a BA in sociology). You're right, there are a lot of examples you could draw from experience. I think the more you can use those examples to illustrate why you want to be a doctor more than a nurse, the better. i.e. like you said, "I think my nursing skills would be better utilized in medicine because...". That's the approach I'm going for.

And whatever you do, don't put nursing down as a profession. Not that you would do that but I've heard a lot of horror stories about nurses who absolutely hate their jobs, which to me is kinda sad & scary.

Either way, it's nice to see another nurse in here. :)

-- tina

Guest Lorae

No, I'd never put nursing down :D