Premed 101 Forums

"really" old

Guest notold

Hello all, I've been reading through various threads with great interest.A wonderful supportive group here.

At 52 I've decided to go back to school and into medicine.

saw a post from a couple of years ago..any more recent news on older students?

My family is a medical one -3 generations.

I'm through all of life's hurdels, babies, divorce, menopause, death of parents and now free to pursue this.

I'm excited about it and this positive group seems like a good place to be as i won't listen to any negative thoughts but also recognize "reality".

My mantra "where there is a will..there is a way"

I'm especially excited about NORMED or NOMS as living and working up North suits me fine.

I have a health Science diploma and am just in the process of transferring university credits to get some qualifying courses.

cheers

Guest Titanium2003

Great to have you here with us!!!!!

Medicine is a great profession and a dream worth pursuing at any stage in life. I, too, am an 'older' hopeful, planning entry in 2005 at age 32. Your life experiences would be a definite bonus to an entering class.

There was a gentleman who just finished at MAC at 53, and a few men and women in the United States who entered med school in their midforties to midfifties. Peak into the website http://www.oldpremeds.net and you'll find inspiring examples of people who are chasing lifelong dreams with loads of energy to match.

Be ready to explain your choice to begin this long, sometimes ardous road when there are many young, fresh-faced things competing for every spot. Don't be shy to showcase your achievements and talents, and to detail the hardships you've conquered.

More importantly, show through impressive recent coursework and the MCAT that you have the mental stamina to match your resolution.

I would be honoured to enter med school at the same time as you do.

Best of luck.

Hi Thanks for your encouraging words.:D