Premed 101 Forums

applications:S

Guest epsilon11

Guest epsilon11

The deadline for applications is soon approaching. I'm in my 4th year of undergrad, and will have BSc in less than a year. Still, I am worried about applying - for a very specific reason. I'll list exactly what I'm going in with, for comparison purposes.

GPA - 4.2 approximately(cumulative)

MCAT - 8/10/S/11 (I don't like the 8, but there's nothing I can do about it now, since I'll never write them again)

Extracurricular stuff - 2 student societies(4 years), 1 volunteer place(2 years), 3 bands(7 years), visual and auditory art( lifetime )

References -This is the tricky part. I don't know who to choose. See, I keep hearing " from the most senior person who knows you well"..for me, I have "maybe" one professor who I would think knows me well enough to write a reference. Most of the people who can vouch for my personality are regular non-academic people from my hometown. However, I haven't seen some of them since I came to university, which would make the last 3 years almost impossible to comment on. Additionally, coming from a small town that didn't have many doctors, I had a different family doctor every year, so none got to know me well enough to provide reference. I have lab experience, but the professors who run the lab aren't around enough to validate being a referee. I have also volunteered for 2 years in an emergency room. The shifts are constantly changing and the nurses and doctors are extremely busy all the time, so they haven't had the time to get to know me.

Wow - I've written a lot; understand I am worried that the only thing stopping me from doing what I've wanted to do for as long as I can remember will be the fact that I didn't know the right people. Additionally, when I do choose references, how many places should I request they send their letters to? Is there a limit, beyond which would be impolite?|I