Premed 101 Forums

questions....military

Guest capblues

Guest capblues

Hello Everyone,

First I want to say that this board is amazing, and that it is a great resource. I am in my first year of undergrad just taking some general courses, but I think I am going to go into kinesiology. Has anyone out there done kinesiology as an undergrad? How was it? I know that I really want to go to med school, I am not the greatest student, but I know that if I put in the effort I can get the grades required.

At this point I need to start thinking of some sort of work or volunteer experience that might help my chances of getting accepted to a med school, as I have next to none now. I have been thinking about joining the Canadian military reserves, but I am having some trouble deciding what trade I want to go into. I have narrowed it dow to 4. Firstly I could be a medic...or a Med-A as they are called..which would be great I think for applying to med school, but from I was thinking I would like to do something different, from what I will be doing for the next 10 years of my life. So i was thinking of going into either a field engineer unit, or possibly an infantry unit. At the same time I love the ocean and have been thinking of joining the navy reserves.

but then maybe the whole reserves thing isn't such a good idea..I just don't know..can anyone help me..Please! is being in the military frowned upon, or is it something that would look great? Would the different trades make a difference???

Any help would be most greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Tommy

Hi Tommy,

I don't think med school would see the military as a negative.

In fact I think it would indicate a degree of commitment and discipline.

As far as choosing what to do I can only suggest going for what you think you'd like the most. If for any reason you did not get into med school you would have an alternate career plan underway.