Premed 101 Forums

Volunteering In A Rural Hospital For A Month

Hi,

I live in Toronto and go to York University.

I was hoping to apply to NOSM this cycle, but I have no volunteering experience in rural areas. Would volunteering at a rural hospital (say Campbellford or Temiskaming Hospital) for a month (July to August) be sufficient to demonstrate interest in rural medicine for the adcom?

What is considered to be rural anyway? For example, Campbellford is around 35 km from Belleville and 45 from Peterborough.

I hope to get a reply.

Thanks,
​Locke

Nobody can really say what is sufficient, everything seems to be kept under lock and key. Take what I say with a grain of salt of course. But if volunteering at a rural hospital is something you want to do, outside of any perceived benefits that it might yield to an application, then I say go for it. But if it makes a difference, I would guess that in the grand scheme of the application it would likely be negligible. The breakdown of pre-interview scores are roughly 1/3rd context (where you grew up, went to high school) 1/3rd GPA and 1/3rd ABS. I suppose that it could give you a few points in the ABS/ questionnaire, but a month really isn't that long and I would think that the adcoms would like to see something more long-term.

If it is something that you genuinely want to do, go for it. I grew up in Temiskaming Shores and I might be biased but I can't imagine anywhere more beautiful to spend a summer. But if it is prohibitively expensive for you to do so I think there are other things that you could do that would yield a greater benefit at a much lower cost.