Premed 101 Forums

Congrats Meds2008's and MCAT stuff

Guest mosquitoba

Guest mosquitoba

Congrats to everyone that made it in this year! I'm finishing up at UW next year, and I am studying for the MCAT right now and just took my first practice exam... I was half disappointed and half relieved with the results. I got 9 on the PS, 10 on VR and 10 on Bio. Does anyone have any idea of how much you can improve your scores (ie in the next month and half!), and what the "competitve" MCAT grades are for U of M? I'd love to stay at home for medical school but am starting to lose hope, since some friends who I thought were strong candidates got their rejection letters from U of M recently. Any info would be great! Thanks!

Guest ManitobaMed

Hey Mosquitoba (by the way, thumbs up on the name!)

If you're an in-province applicant, the scores you listed should be sufficient for an interview (check out the U of M entrance stats for more info on this), provided you meet the WS minimum.

I'm not really sure how much one can improve scores in 1.5 months; however, from my experience with the MCAT, success on the PS section is a matter of knowing basic concepts and applying them. The bio section is similar. One suggestion I can offer is to do some practice sections in these two areas and identify concepts that might be weaker for you so that you can put some additional study focus on them. As for the two English sections: practice questions!

Check out the MCAT thread for further advice. :)

dude, you'll definitely be fine if you're getting those numbers on your first practice exam. i've written the mcat once before and that was 2 years ago. i'm struggling to get my ass in gear just to get this done again in august which is in 7 weeks (eek!).

any study tips you'd like to share?

Guest mosquitoba

Hey again!