Premed 101 Forums

Weight Of Research Success In Graduate Applicant Stream

Hi all,

I am currently a PhD student at the U of A, looking to apply for MD programs across the country if I don't gain admission to U of A prior to completion of my degree here. 

Just wondering if any graduate student applicants can offer any insight into how much their CV mattered compared to other extracurricular activities (if any of you have received feedback about previous applications). Does the CV requirement seem to reduce the importance of other activities in your autobiographical sketch like volunteerism and other non-academic activities? 

i.e. Does it appear admissions looks favorably upon someone who does modest volunteer work but spends large amounts of time in the lab as evidenced by a large number of publications and scholarships? 

Hey there,

I was accepted last year via the graduate stream. I completed an MSc degree and had a cGPA of 3.73 (did not qualify for weighting). In terms of graduate productivity, I had two publications (1st and 2nd author) and four conference abstracts.

I will try my best to provide some insight, but I do not think anyone would know the exact weighting of the academic CV compared to other components of the application, unless they were part of the admissions committee (if they were, they most likely would not be sharing it here). Also, I have not received formal feedback from admissions from previous application cycles.