Premed 101 Forums

For the people who got interviews or got accepted, I have ..

Guest Retic2002

Guest Retic2002

I was just wondering what type of extracurricular activity you did. I know MAC is interested in a all around person.

Thanks

Guest macmed

Hi, I'm a first year Mac med student. I'd say my extra-curriculars were pretty standard. Most recently I worked as a receptionist in an after-hours family medicine clinic, and volunteered with Trillium's pediatric cancer clinic. That was during grad school. In undergrad I volunteered at a distress line/drop in centre, and I "worked" (didn't get paid but had to be interviewed to get in) as a learning consultant (counselling peers to study effectively). Nothing really in high school - no sports or student's council or music or anything like that. No travel or "work" experience.

Macmed

Guest macmed04

I didn't get the chance to do much extracurricular stuff for the past 5 years or so because I traveled lots for work. It's kind of hard to volunteer or joint a sports team if you're not around consistently - I think the admissions people agreed it was fair enough to decide not to do stuff if I wasn't able to commit to it fully. The one thing I did do was get involved in the Worker's Council (became chairperson of that after a couple years) to represent the employees in discussions with management, including changes to workplace policies.

In university, I did tons of intramural stuff and managed a couple intramural teams, and a friend and I organized the Christmas Carol service and food drive one year. In high school, I volunteered at a hospital for 4 years (didn't do anything too exciting there) and played piano.

And that's about it, apart from reading, cooking, biking...

Macmed04

Guest macattack