Premed 101 Forums

Opinions on My Competitiveness

4 hours ago, Basc72 said:

Hi there,

So, I'm a Canadian student from Ontario. I graduated last June with a Bachelor's of Arts and Science (BASc.) which allowed me to take a variety of science as well as arts and humanities classes including the pre-reqs for a broad spectrum of dental schools. My last three years cGPA is a 3.83 (using the OMSAS conversion) and looking at just my last two years it's a 3.98 (hoping the schools that look at three years will notice the upward trend).

I'm taking the Canadian DAT this Saturday and while obviously nothing is set in stone I'm expecting at minimum a 21's across the board based on my performance on the the 07/09 DATs, Bootcamp, Destroyer, etc.

Here's the catch. I'm only applying to like 4 schools this cycle: Saskatchewan, Toronto, Western, Dal.

If it doesn't work out this time around I'm strongly investigating applying to the dental research master's program at U of T because I think if I do even moderately well in that program I think it would set me up nicely to segway into a DDS afterwards.

Any thoughts on my chances?
For what it's worth, and I don't think it really matters for the above listed schools, but I have 100+ volunteer hours, 100+ shadowing hours, I was a varsity athlete through my undergrad, and I am co-author of a history paper that has received attention from a journal and is being edited to their specifications in preparation for publication.

One more thing -- how competitive is it exactly for say the Cork dental school in Ireland? If I had that masters would I be in good shape?

Thanks so much for taking the time to read this, and if this isn't the correct place to post this I'm really sorry!!!