Premed 101 Forums

Any help regarding my situation appreciated

Guest Mens Rea

Guest Mens Rea

Hello to the message board !

Perhaps my situation may seem a little insane, so if nothing else, I hope everyone gets a good laugh at least.

Well anyways, I am 30 years old now and I have an undergrad degree in Psychology and an MBA / LLB from Western. I have practiced law in addition to working in house for a non profit organization. I have always thought of medicine but in the past I was often worried that I wouldn't be able to hack it etc. Then of course life stuff happened (married, child, career etc.) However now I have realized that I really can make this happen if I truly want to.

My problem is this. My marks from undergrad were very good 3.7ish however my marks from law school (considered an undergrad degree) are average many B's, one A and 2 C's ( law school has a B bell curve grading system). The other issue is that I do not have any science courses required by many of the schools.

I was wondering if anyone has advice on what the next step should be to optimize my chances of gaining acceptance somewhere. I was thinking of perhaps going back and doing an quick undergrad science degree and writing the MCAT (ie 3 courses each summer, 5during the year, 4 in the second year - complete in 2 years basically). Or perhaps doing the accelerated nursing program and completing the prereqs in the summer. Would this work against me? Nursing student to Med school?

I know Mac does not require science courses, but I'm sure it would look favourably if one can demonstrate their ability in those courses. I think Mac would be a great school to attend, as I have had exposure to PBL learning in my MBA which was entirely PBL based, however the odds of getting an interview are quite low. Therefore its probably best to tackle the science courses