Premed 101 Forums

non-science students

Guest gwendolenharleth

Guest gwendolenharleth

I've been accepted to Mac and I'm a non-science student. I've taken the basic "MCAT courses" and that's it. Just how much will I suffer in first year? How common are non-science students at Mac -- misery loves company, afterall. Is there anything I can/should do to prepare in advance, or should I just enjoy my last summer of freedom before the wall of stress hits?

Guest cher1234

Hi gwendolenharleth.

First of all congrats! I look forward to meeting you in the fall!

I am also from a non-science background.. specifically, H.B.A. & M.A. in Clincial Psychology. I was wondering the same thing, so thanks for the post.

I previously came across some stats indicating there is little to no difference in performance ratings between science and non-science premed backgrounds after the 3 years are complete. This, however, does not provide any indication of whether or not we will suffer during first year.

Can any second year students comment on this?

C.

Guest jmh2005

Well...this is a hard one...I come from a very clinical background, so I may not be the best one to answer this.

However, I do have good friends in the program that just survived (and thrived) in year one with a very limited science background and in some cases no background at all.

Unit 1 may be the most difficult...some people (a very small few) had to start from the basics, cell biology, basic homeostatic mechanisms which you can easily incorporate into the unit 1 topics because the workload is really not that bad...they call it "unit fun"...unit two is a different story...very interesting but ++ work (for me anyways)...