Premed 101 Forums

Canadian Dental Student At Pitt Dental. Ama!

Hey guys, I'm a Canadian dental student (from Ontario to be specific), and I'm heading towards finishing my first year at the University of Pittsburgh school of Dental Medicine. I remember having a ton of questions before I started, so feel free to ask me anything :)

Thanks for starting this kind of thread! It will be really helpful, especially to those who know how to search for these forums.
Here are some of my questions:
1. Do you feel well supported by your school? For example, are students, faculty, and admin considerate and helpful?
2. Did you find the move from Ontario to Pittsburgh difficult?(Assuming you stayed close to home during undergrad)
3. What do you like most and dislike most about your program so far?
4. Are the students' concerns heard and addressed in a timely manner?

1. Yes for the most part faculty are great as well as the administration. There are 1 or 2 faculty who I've come across who are kind of *ssholes, but they are old, grumpy, and from a different generation. Mostly everyone else has been kind and supportive. 

2. No the move was super easy! I rented a van in Ontario and just drove my stuff down! It's also pretty straightforward to sign a lease, you just might need to send a copy of your passport. 

3. I love how all the dental specialties are integrated into the school. We get a lot of exposure to all departments and specialties of dentistry, which you don't often find at many other schools. I dislike the workload/class ranking system. The program is super stressful. If I were to do it again I would have gone to a P/F school like UPenn. Having class rankings and everything graded on 4.0 scale makes everything extremely stressful. Dental school is tough as shit, and we barely get any time off (only 1 month off in the summers)