Premed 101 Forums

Clinical Pharmacist - Chances?

Hi everyone,

I am a 25 year old pharmacist working in Ontario and I am unsatisfied with my career. I did 2 years of undergrad, 4 years of pharmacy school, 1 year of hospital pharmacy residency, and I have been working full-time as a hospital pharmacist for about 6 months now. 

I have been entertaining the idea of applying for med school, but I am hesitant to give it a shot because I don't think my GPA is competitive enough.

GPA for McMaster/Queens (cGPA): 3.77
GPA for UofT (wGPA): 3.83
GPA for Western (best 2 years): 3.97

The reason that my GPA varies so much is because although my marks were quite good in undergrad, they dropped quite a bit in pharmacy school (it was much harder to get good grades in pharmacy). 

I know that McMaster will give a Graduate degree bonus (1% Master's/4% PhD). Would having a PharmD qualify for this bonus?

What do you guys think? Should I try taking the MCAT and give it shot or just forget about it because the chances are so low?

9 hours ago, lostmyway said:

Hi everyone,

I am a 25 year old pharmacist working in Ontario and I am unsatisfied with my career. I did 2 years of undergrad, 4 years of pharmacy school, 1 year of hospital pharmacy residency, and I have been working full-time as a hospital pharmacist for about 6 months now. 

I have been entertaining the idea of applying for med school, but I am hesitant to give it a shot because I don't think my GPA is competitive enough.

GPA for McMaster/Queens (cGPA): 3.77
GPA for UofT (wGPA): 3.83
GPA for Western (best 2 years): 3.97

The reason that my GPA varies so much is because although my marks were quite good in undergrad, they dropped quite a bit in pharmacy school (it was much harder to get good grades in pharmacy). 

I know that McMaster will give a Graduate degree bonus (1% Master's/4% PhD). Would having a PharmD qualify for this bonus?