Premed 101 Forums

Another OOP question (sorry)

I graduated from Dalhousie with my Nursing degree and absolutely loved that school so much. I would have stayed in NS but moved back home because I was offered a job at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto and it was really hard to turn down that offer. Anyway, I’ve grown a ton as a nurse and even decided that I wanted to go to medical school earlier this year. It would be amazing to go back to Dal. However, I’m obviously not in province. I genuinely feel a strong connection to the Maritimes; while I went to high school in Ontario (mostly grew up here) I have the majority of my family in Nova Scotia and visit quite frequently. I’m wondering if it would be worth it to move to become IP or if I have a chance as an out of province applicant? My final 2 year gpa is 3.95 and I’m writing my MCAT this summer (before the cut off). I have a lot of neonatal ICU nursing experience, was a peer mentor at various points throughout undergrad, and have been trying really hard to gain volunteer experience within my community all year. Given that I never really planned on going into medicine, I don’t really have any research experience but I will most definitely consider it for the following application cycle (because I’m willing to apply like 5 times if I have to lol).

thank you :)

For OOP 600~ applicants they choose 60 based on the 250 word maritime connections essay (as long as you meet requirements with your GPA and likely MCAT score 125+ you should be fine), it's all based on how well you word your connection essay but definitely doable! 

18 minutes ago, samc5 said:

For OOP 600~ applicants they choose 60 based on the 250 word maritime connections essay (as long as you meet requirements with your GPA and likely MCAT score 125+ you should be fine), it's all based on how well you word your connection essay but definitely doable! 

Okay thank you! This gives me hope haha

1 hour ago, Chels1267 said: