Premed 101 Forums

Graduate or not? (non-degree vs 5th year)

Hello there!

Hope everyone is doing well and most importantly safe!

As a 4th year student, I was supposed to graduate after this term. Unfortunately, I did not get any interviews this year and I am currently studying for MCAT (re-taking it sometimes this summer).

My initial plan after graduating was to get a full-time job related to my science degree and make some money while I wait for application cycles. However, given the coronavirus pandemic circumstances, I am concerned with finding jobs with my science degree. Regardless of working full-time or not, I still need to come back to school to take some pre-requisite courses so that I can apply more broadly next cycle. 

I will be taking the pre-requisite courses on a part-time basis (only need 1-2 courses really).

I am worried about red flags that may be raised if admissions committees see that I did not graduate on time even though I already have more than enough credits and will only be taking 1 course. So I am debating between graduating and returning as a non-degree student or postpone graduation and stay for a 5th year.

I came up with pros of each option and I would really appreciate any advice and suggestions.

Pros of graduating and returning as a non-degree student

-DEGREE (hopefully it will get me full-time jobs, fingers crossed)

-I was notified that I was a runner-up for Valedictorian for this year's graduation and not graduating means I may lose this "title" next year.

-not sure about this one, but I would assume non-degree student taking 1 course looks more favourable than staying as a 5th year student taking 1 course (please correct me if I am wrong!)

Pros of not graduating and returning as a 5th-year student

-a possibility of being the president of a club that I am passionate about (you must be an undergraduate student to be the president, you can't as a non-degree student)