Premed 101 Forums

Matching To Toronto Im?

Hi all!

Congrats to everyone who has matched! Thought this would be an ideal time to pose these questions as everyone has a fresh perspective on it. Now I'm a first year med student. Yes it seems a bit high-strung of me to be thinking so much about CaRMS this early, but my school has actually been pushing for it. 

I ideally want to match to Toronto (born and raised a city boy with a strong interest in research/academic medicine) and I'm interested in matching to IM at the moment. Don't worry, I'm still going to apply broadly and play it safe. I have heard the pros and cons about their program a lot, but mixed responses about the challenges I'll face matching there. I don't go med school in Toronto (still in Ontario however).

So my questions are: what are some tips you have for me to achieve my dream match of IM at Toronto? I do quite a bit of med onc/rad onc research during the school year, so I think I will be ok on that part if it's important. However, would I also need to consider networking more in Toronto, particularly with the residency program coordinators? 

Thank you for your advice in advance!

From my experience, research is not that important as I know people with productive Masters and MD/PhDs who did not get an interview or did not get in after the interview. I did not have any research experience and was successful.

I think strong reference letters and a genuine sounding personal letter (e.g do not lie about loving research when you clearly don't!) play a bigger role than a CV. Try to get letters from well known and established UT faculty during your core IM clerkship rotation. You also don't need a trillion electives in Toronto outside your core IM rotation. McMaster and Ottawa have great programs too so you should do electives there. Don't do all CTU electives and burn yourself out either.