Premed 101 Forums

Confused about applying with master's programs and value

Hi all,

Long story short I'm doing my masters and then trying to apply to apply to med. The two lab I'm debating between are like this:
 Lab 1 - Super prestigious (better reference letter) but longer projects (with more impact) medically oriented. Super low chance of getting first author, probably get 1 middle author paper. Two middle author papers if lucky. 

Lab 2 - Solid lab, publishes a ton, not medically oriented but still biology (molec in animals). Students usually get at least 1-2 first author publications and have chances for other pubs. 

I'm planning on applying to UofT, Western and McMaster, Queens, Calgary

I asked UofT and they said that for the graduate route you basically need first author. However I noticed that the other medschools don't really have the option for a graduate stream. 

So essentially my question is, which lab would increases my chances of getting in? Do publications matter in the other places besides UofT's grad stream? 

Apologies if these are really dumb questions, I've been stressing uot abot this for 2 weeks =/ no idea where else to go. 

Thanks!

Lab 1 sounds good if you were doing graduate studies to go into academics. A masters is a short time and you might not get your projects finished, which unfortunately doesn't count for much for most med applications (OMSAS wants published works, and yes they matter). At UofT you could elaborate on current projects in your CV. 

On the other hand, I'm hesitant on how much the grad stream helps your application at UofT. There was some debate here about what qualifies you as a grad student- enrollment in research program or publication. If you are considered in the grad stream, I think the only advantage is the lower GPA cutoff- will that be of help to you?

Topic-wise, medically-orientated or molecular biology are the same thing in terms of your application. Do something that interests you.