Premed 101 Forums

Need some advice please =)

Guest mmak

Hi y'all,

I'm a chem student going in my third year and my best two year average is 90.1%.

I have written the MCAT and got 7/8/10/R.

I'd like to apply to U of S, but I haven't taken english yet. If I do take it, it would have to be on top of the 5 courses Im taking right now (since they're compulsory).

Do I have a chance of getting into U of S? If so, do you think I should go ahead and face a gruelling third year taking English on top of a full course load?

m mak

Guest Ian Wong

The most important question to answer first is: are you considered in-province, or out-of-province? If OOP, then your odds get quite significantly worse.

Ian

UBC, Med 3

Guest doctorbones

The last I checked most Universities require English to graduate and most medical schools have it as a prerequisite. For the U of Sask, English is a prerequisite. If you took it on top of your full course load it would mean extra work but, judging by your grades, you could probably handle it. Of course, only you could truly know this and also, look into just how difficult a course English is at your particular University. So, if you are in-province and would like to apply right away, take the course. If you are OOP, you're still competitive because I'm pretty sure they do not factor your MCATs into your final rank. I guess it all comes down to whether or not you are in a rush to get in, or would rather take your time and smell the roses.

Well,

I'm an OOP applicant in Ontario...my only worry is that U of Sask may change their Mcat requirement next year....but I heard that if you had the qualifications for U of Sask as an OOP, then you have a fairly good shot at matriculation...is this true?

Cheers

mmak.

Guest kosmo14