Premed 101 Forums

Can good MCATs be a bonus?

Guest Aidan

I know that UofT only uses MCAT scores as a "flag", and that the MCAT does not count towards your academic score, but does it really truly not matter AT ALL as long as you meet the cut-offs?

I suppose my question to the experts is: can a spectacular MCAT score help you get into UofT, or is it of no consequence once it meets the 9/9/9/N requirement? Would it add anything to the application, or would it be practically ignored?

Guest chiapet921

Hi there!~

Well, I'm not an expert, but knowing that our GPAs, essay and MCAT scores are reviewed by 2nd yr. med students (probably not reviewed ONLY by them...), anything that is not baseline will stick out with a good impression...just think about a job interview...if candidate A comes in with a great looking resume and candidate B has an ok one...who will leave you a better impression? The application process is biased, as all things are in life....

But really, if our scores are all put into some type of mathematical formula to generate a rank, then I don't think it'd make a big difference unless you have a 45T or something...if you have that, they'd call YOU to come to their school...

Guest jacksonchan85

Hi,

I thought it was 3rd year students who screen apps?

Also, what happens if the med students know some of the applicants - wouldn't that make for some biased judgement?

Guest chiapet921

Hi there!~

No, I've heard (and also its been mentioned on this board) that it is 2nd yr. meds who review the essays...

It's to my understanding that before reviewing the files, they are probably given instructions that if they come across an applicant that they know, they should be given another application to review...I'm sure the moderators may have more reliable information re: this?

Guest UTMed07