Premed 101 Forums

Engineering Student Looking to Pursue Medicine

Hello everyone, it's my first time posting on this forum. I'm currently enrolled in engineering at Ryerson University, but am on medical withdrawal. I have completed two full years at Ryerson but since September of 2017 I have been dealing with a chronic illness that has not allowed me to return. I originally planned to pursue either medicine or pharmacy but couldn't afford med school so opted to go for engineering as I have always been interested in the sciences. I've fallen in love with medicine again in this two year span and I feel miserable in my engineering program. I've had a long time to consider my options and I'm doing a little better financially but I don't know where to go from here. Should I transfer? Complete my degree? Start a new undergraduate? I'm not too sure if GPA is carried over to new schools. My GPA is currently 3.0 if that helps at all. Any help or information would be greatly appreciated. I just want to know where my options lie. 

Hi Jake,   In Canada you need to do 3-4 years of an undergrad degree before being able to apply to Medicine.  It is a 2nd entry program.  Your undergrad can be anything --  even Engineering.    You will find on premed101 discussions on entering from Engineering like below link.  It is doable, but not a typical path as achieving a high GPA can be harder to achieve.