Premed 101 Forums

CV length and other questions

Guest Nikhila

Guest Nikhila

Hi everyone,

I have a couple of quick questions. In your opinion, what is a good length for a CV? For employement purposes, I know the shorter the better. But for academic purposes, U of T wants us to list our Extracurriculars and this is taking up alot of space for me. I think my CV may be about 4 pages. I'm enrolled in a course-based Master's program so I don't have a section on publications, otherwise my CV would be even longer. I'm just not sure what is too long. I feel like the committee has so much paper to go through in each application that a long CV would be enough to sink your chances for snagging an interview.

Secondly, are you guys describing your extracurricular activites in addition to listing them?

This is my first time submitting my CV for academic purposes, so I'm pretty nervous that it is a POS. I'd really appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks and Happy New Year!

Nikhila

Guest blinknoodle

Hi Nikhila,

I applied to Toronto's MD/PhD program where they also required us to submit a CV. Although they didn't give us any guidelines, I had sections for academics, research, publications, presentations, awards, extracurriculars, work and interests. I consulted with them before I submitted and they said 4 pages would be no problem.

-blinknoodle

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

I think if you take a look at some standard CVs, e.g., that of your supervisor, it can provide some good insight as to the general format required. Four pages seems reasonable for a graduate applicant, although some may be more (perhaps in the case of PhD students) or less.