Premed 101 Forums

OT8 @ 89 Chestnut?

Guest Nikhila

Guest Aidan

I want to but haven't been offered a spot yet :\ . I hope they let me know soon. Nikhila, do you know for sure that you're living there?

Guest 15Sacha

I got offered a super single about 2 weeks ago, but I'm not going to take it. Instead I will be moving into an apartment, which I find way more convenient and cheap.

Guest Aidan

Hey Sacha,

Whereabouts did you look for an apartment (and how did you start looking)? If Chestnut doesn't work out, I'll have to start looking too (very soon!), but I'm new to the rental game. If you have any pointers or tips, I would really appreciate it!

Thanks

Guest UofT MD OT8

Renting tips!

Some places to look at:

1) If you are in Toronto or GTA, look at the Renters News (a magazine that is free to get and available at many street corners)

2) http://www.viewit.ca

3) If you are a UofT Student, you can look at UofT Off-Campus Housing. Just go to http://www.utoronto.ca, go to current student links and look under student Housing

4) Put in a late application at 89 Chestnut

5) go to http://www.torontomeds.com and click on Contents and scroll down to Housing and Classifieds!!!

A lot of us are looking. Right now, the renters have a lot of choice due to the economy; so there a lot of empty unoccupied suites. Just keep looking to find the optimal one in terms of rent, distance, and roomates!

:)

Guest Makunouchi

I had Chesnut as a backup, and got offered a double yesterday.

If I do end up staying there, I would rather have a single.

Hey guys,

I put in a late application at 89 Chestnut too. I was wondering how far a walk it is from the med school. Does anyone know?

thanks so much

ren

• 2 weeks later...
Guest Bleepo

Hey Nikhila,

I just got offered a super single at Chestnut. I most likely will be accepting. I'm glad to know there'll be someone else from my class there! And Aidan, keep calling and emailing them once a week...that's what I did ... =)

Bleepo