Premed 101 Forums

First Aid and CPR

Guest Gill0927

Guest Gill0927

Hi all,

Another question for everyone -- I'm looking into Standard First Aid/ CPR courses, and I'm going to be taking a St. John's Ambulance course, that comes with Standard FA and CPR 'A' (basic, one-rescuer CPR). I know all the stuff for advanced CPR (I'm certified in Israel, where I worked as a medic/EMT for a couple summers), but I'll only be certified (in Canada) in CPR 'A'. Is this okay for Western? Or should I opt to take the extra session (xtra time and money) to do CPR 'C' (standard CPR, all variations)?

Any insight would be helpful. Thanks!

Gill :b

Guest Gill0927

Hi,

Where does it say 'CPR-C'? That's what I can't find! Everywhere I look, what I find is:

"Applicants should complete a St. John Ambulance course or the equivalent in standard first aid and a CPR Basic Rescuer course, and be able to produce valid certificates before enrolment in the medical program."

So, until I can find where it says 'CPR-C', I guess my question is still out there...

Thanks,

Gill :b

Guest JSS02

For what it's worth, the card I have from St. John Ambulance says that I have completed a course in "Safety Oriented First Aid - Std. FA + Basic Rescuer CPR." Doesn't mention CPR-A or CPR-C.

Guest Ninja

CPR must be recertified every year. Check your card, it should say the expiry date. I would think certification from 2002 would be expired by now.

As far as which certification to get for the start of medical school, it can't hurt to have Level C CPR and First Aid. I think that's what most people get. In fact, I would think we should all seek to have ample life-saving skills since we're medical students and doctors-to-be. If that doesn't convince you, all I have to say is better safe than sorry!