Premed 101 Forums

Options for High School Student as a Future Med Student

Guest dmacdonald95

Guest dmacdonald95

{Hopefully this is in the right forum...I didn't see one for "Future-Premed" ;) }

I am a high school student in Ontario and I am taking all Academic courses (aka University courses) except for Math. I didn't marginally well in Grade 9 Science and not-so-well in Grade 10 Science, although I have hunkered down and hope to do quite well on the exam.

My question is this: You need a BSc to get into medical school, but as I understand it you need to go to a University, and I will need to upgrade my Math (as well as repeat my Science, unless I can get 90's in the next 2 years)...what options do I have for this?

Do I go to a college and take courses to upgrade my math before going to University, or can I get my Bachelors from a College?

Second question: I really, really, really want to go to Johns Hopkins in the U.S. but I've been told it's unbelievably difficult to get into. Is this true? (As a backup plan I want to either go to McGill, or University of Western Ontario)

First off, you don't need a BSc to get into med school. Any bachelors degree will do... this includes, but is not limited to, BA, BCom, BASc, BSN, etc. You do not need a bio-science degree to get into med school. (I did math and physics before med school.) What you do need are the prerequisites: 1 year each of biology, chemistry, organic chemistry, and physics. Some schools in the US require English and math as well.

"Colleges" by definition in Canada are two years and most, if not all, don't offer the traditional bachelor degrees. They may offer Associate degrees or other diplomas but these are generally not accepted by med schools. The word "college" in the US is used interchangeably with "university." Hence, going to a college in the US is the same as going to university. The "colleges" in Canada are referred to in the US as "junior colleges."