Premed 101 Forums

Got Questions about American schools???

Guest DrBadVibes

Guest DrBadVibes

Hey, Im a senior dental student in Philadelphia and I know a lot about the American process. And as a Canadian, I'd like to help my fellow Canadians out as much as I can. I went to UofT undergrad :x

Here was a question someone had in another thread:

"Have you been to U of Pittsburgh or the city itself? What's it like? It's one of the schools I've applied to this summer"

I have not been to Pittsburgh, but being from Pennsylvania, I hear about Pittsburgh A LOT!!! So much, that Im going to be applying to Pitts for residency.

Many of my profs are from there and they have nothing but good things to say about it. And before you say, "well they came there, of course they'll say good things about it", thats not necessarily true....

I have profs from Penn and half of them liked it and half of them would, in their own words "never send my kids there"......

I think out of the 3 Pennsylvania schools, Pitts is the most well rounded....Temple is very clinical, Penn is very academic while Pitts is a bit of both.

About the city.....well, ummm.....lets just say that my classmates from Pittsburgh dont speak highly of it as a city to live in as a student.....they are going back there to practice cause of their family, but otherwise they dont think its a "happening" city.....and thats from their own mouth.

But I think Pittsburgh is on the up and is only getting better.....it doesnt have much of the industrial roots that its known for....and plus, in 4-5 years, the Penguins are going to be the hockey dynasty again!!!!

If you want a great comparison that you could relate to, Pittsburgh is very much like Hamilton, Ontario. Hope this helped!

Guest Aplusdent

Wow! Thanks!

Here's another question: How important are the interviews in the U.S.? If you have ok stats or wonderful stats will the interview help you/hurt you? Is the process/environment different from Canadian interviews?