Premed 101 Forums

Dalhousie kine students applying for PT

Does the Dal PT program admissions care if you took some courses in the summer?

Also, I'm currently a second year kine student transferring to dal so I don't have any contact with kine students as of yet. I wanted to know your thoughts on the following courses in terms of difficulty:

KINE 2310, KINE 2320, KINE 2430, KINE 3250, KINE 3500, PHYC 1310, KINE 1108

Thank you.

• 4 weeks later...

Hi there, 

I am a Dalhousie student (grew up in NS) going into year 3. 

I know all of these courses very well except KINE3500 which I will be taking in the fall.

KINE 2310 : Unless you are very strong on physiology material, I would say this is the most challenging course in our entire kin program. Derek is the prof; he is really nice and super passionate about teaching this course. However, the content is very heavy and he expects you to have a strong background in physiology knowledge in order to build layers for exercise physiology material. I honestly took this course twice and did much better the second time, and I even enjoyed it more (only because I do enjoy learning physiology). Additionally, the lab component is heavy in terms of writing lab reports; however, hoping you will have the opportunity to do the labs in person, this will be the most FUN and coolest lab you will ever experience!!!! You will get to use a bunch of equipment and software to literally test VO2 max/repiratory function/physicality etc !! I legit died from participating the VO2 max and wingate test on the cycling machine but I learnt so much because of these hands-on experience. Be prepared ;)!