Premed 101 Forums

Taking a year break?

Guest jugule

Guest jugule

Hello everyone,

I am a fourth year student and I've applied to dental schools this year. But I am thinking of taking a year break if i don't get in this year. Does anyone knows if there is any disadvantage of taking a year break on admission to dental shools? Thanks for your help and time in advance.

Guest 2oothfairy

hello, I don't think you are at a disadvantage at all.. If you want to rewrite the DAT, you'll have plenty of time to study and time to do all the applications. For the schools that require an autobiographical letter, it would probably help to write what you accomplished during that year.. say if you volunteer or worked.

Guest sensodyne

I'm taking a year break right now b/c I needed to write the DAT for the first time and I also wanted to travel a bit. UBC has a section on the application--a small one though--where you can write down what you've been doing for the past year if you are not in school. I think taking a year can be even advantageous as long as you do something constructive w/ that time. Besides, once school starts, you may not have another chance to travel or whatever that you've been dying to do.

Guest dentin09

I have heard the Dean of a Dental school, when asked this question, advocate for the importance of continued education (essentially hinting that a master's is better than taking a year off)... but I took a year off and opened a clinic for the rehabilitation of acute and chronic injuries and I'm in.

The experience of working with patients in a health setting and operating a business was invaluable... but Dental schools are still Academic Institutions which focus more on school!

Guest UBC DMD for me

one thing to consider is that if you choose not to take a year off and instead begin a Master's, some dental schools insist that you finish your degree before you can even be considered for acceptance.