Premed 101 Forums

Do you mark up your soap with pencil or felt?

Guest smooth operater

Guest smooth operater

Hey guys!

I just started practicing carving by myself today, and the felt I received with the CDA package did not mark up the soap very well since the soap is waxy. The marks just smear all the time. And the tip of the felt is not thin enough for me to draw accurate and clean lines.

So, I tried using a very sharp pencil instead. It worked like a charm. I was able to draw straight, accurate, and clean lines with the pencil. But ONE biggest problem is that these lines are not pencil mark lines (not lead mark). These are lines that I have CARVED by the pencil. So I could see some of these lines left on the soap after I finished craving the design. Will I lose marks on the real exam? What is the best way to mark up the soap? Hope you guys can give some tips. THANKS!:D

Guest orlinmyer

Yeah, the felts suck to mark up the soap. What you can try to do is shave the tip of the felt into more of a point. I don't know if they'll deduct marks for using a pencil.

Guest smooth operater

yeah, dat_tutor taught me to use to pencil. But TopScore guide said mark will be deduced if carving lines from pencil appear on the final design.

Guest snoop99

They don't deduct marks for barely anything.....

Carving has such a wide range of marks by all writers, that it is scaled somewhat i believe unlike the reading section (set # of questions right = your score)

Personally...

-I chipped my soap

-I carved one of the ends crooked (took a swipe and my blade went couple mm below my line)

-I wrote my name on the soap with the black felt pen, and it smudged all over (my soap had black marks everywhere from this, looked like a 13yr old carved it)

-I dropped my soap on the ground as well (slanted desks in buchanan building at UBC)

I felt I failed after this (most would i suspect). So I didnt try on the rest of the DAT exam. Carving was my highest at 26/30